Turnbull Trophy Falls Victim To The Weather

11/12/17: Sadly, yesterday's Turnbull Trophy at Eton had to be cancelled due to the adverse weather conditions, with many of the 30 entered pairs from 11 different schools unable to make it to the venue. 

2016 Turnbull Trophy: Five in a Row for St.Olave's

12/12/16: The Olavian pair of Seb Cooley and Tom Gallagher piled on the records in the 2016 Graham Turnbull Trophy at Eton yesterday with a fifth consecutive Olavian win, a record sixth title for Seb Cooley (although he never managed to win the tournament as a schoolboy, losing in the final in both 1996 and 1997) and a third win for Tom Gallagher, the first school player to win more than twice.

Continue Reading

Turnbull Trophy 2015: St.Olave's On Top

Anthony Theodossi reports:

16/11/15: On a rather windy day at Eton the 2015 Turnbull Trophy took place. By Friday evening there was a healthy entry of 18 pairs, but due to lots of last minute drop-outs we were heavily depleted to almost half the entry; the 10 pairs that did take part though made for a competitive fun day of Fives.

Continue Reading

Nov 2014: Toop Turns The Tables in the Turnbull

17/11/14: Fives fans have become used to the sight of Seb Cooley and James Toop taking each other on in major finals; in recent times Seb has had the edge, but yesterday at Eton saw James turn the tables in an all-Olavian Turnbull Trophy final, partnering Tom Gallagher to a narrow victory over Seb and Josh Ravi in a thrilling match.

Continue Reading

2013/14 Turnbull Trophy - Olave's and Shrewsbury in the Final

The 2013 Graham Turnbull Trophy took place at Eton on Sunday 17th November with 28 pairs from 8 different schools taking part. The standard was exceptionally high and the tournament produced some cracking matches.

Continue Reading
2012/13 Turnbull Trophy: Cooley and Self regain the Turnbull

Fives history was made on Christmas Eve at Eton as Olavian pair Seb Cooley and Chris Self became the first pair ever to regain the Turnbull Trophy. Having won the cup in 2010/11 but missed out last season they scored a comfortable straight games win against Berkhamsted pair Doug Foster and 2011/12 winner Ali Leighton.

S.Cooley & C.Self (St.Olave's) beat D.Foster & A.Leighton (Berkhamsted) 3-0 (12-7, 12-4, 12-6)

2012/13 Turnbull Trophy: Olave's and Berkhamsted into the Final

Dominique Redmond reports:

Last Sunday 20 pairs from St Olave's Grammar School, Wolverhampton GS, Berkhamsted, Emanuel School, City of London School, King Edward's School and Westminster School took part in the prestigous Graham Turnbull Trophy. This competition is where school pupils partner up with either players from their Old Boys club or their School Fives coach, and compete against other similar pairs.

Continue Reading
2011/12 Turnbull Trophy: Campbell and Leighton win it for Berkhamsted

The Turnbull Trophy Final was held at Highgate last Sunday and won by Berkhamsted pair George Campbell and Ali Leighton who beat Westminsters Laurie Brock and James Alster in three close games, with the Berkhamsted pair producing their best Fives when it really mattered.

Berkhamsted (G.Campbell & A.Leighton) beat Westminster (L.Brock & J.Alster) 3-0 (12-9, 13-11, 12-10)

2011/12 Turnbull Trophy: Westminster and Berkhamsted into the final

The early rounds of the 2011 Turnbull Trophy took place at Eton last Sunday, with over 30 pairs taking part from a wide range of schools: Westminster, Berkhamsted, St.Olave's, Ipswich, Emanuel, Highgate, RGS High Wycombe, Wrekin, Wolverhampton and Mill Hill.

Continue Reading
Self and Cooley take the 2010/11 Turnbull

The final of the Turnbull Trophy took place at Eton yesterday, with Chris Self and Seb Cooley of St.Olave's defeating Anthony Theodossi and Steve Wiggill of Berkhamsted in the final 12-4, 12-8, 14-13.